Download

A new start, A lot of questions. - Unreal Engine tips/help for a new dev

Hello!
I’ve reached a certain stage of my degree, which requires me to learn UE mechanics and develop a game, with this engine.
Now, I’m not a beginner at coding, that I’ve been doing for the past 4 years, BUT, I’ve developed 2D games all this time.
I have no idea how to program for a 3D environment, there’s many things I don’t know about 3D itself, like light effects, particles (okay, I know we have this in 2D, but it could be different in 3D), camera management, CHARACTER/OBJECT creation/animation, and, of course, how to do an UI, a Cinematic and, you know, the typical menu system.
The Engine starts right off the bat with a premade zone ( or even empty ) and I don’t know where to start with!
I don’t know if I can mention other engines here, and I’m sorry if it’s forbidden, but my experience is based on Unity and C#, which makes the whole blueprint system easy to understand, but I still feel lost in the middle of this overwhelming UI, with so many options for so many things I can’t even dream of.
Don’t take me wrong, exploring is great, but I’m not that kind of person, atleast in the beginning.
I prefer to watch/read a good guide. Even if it’s a 2 hour video, or if it’s a page with a really tiny scroll bar, it’s fine by me if I understand the basics and I get my initial mindset.

Now, I’ve searched unreal engine tutorials around the web ( not a deep search, just pointing that out ) and some videos really helped me understand some details about the engine, while others ( most of the unreal engine videos ) just use premade models, stages, objects, everything, with their premade animations and actions, and I just can’t follow that. I want to be able to create most of my content, or atleast learn how to do some of the most important things.