Download

3D Modelling Best Practices For Mobile And UE ?

Hello,

I am an engineer and graphics programmer assigned to the 3D art production team at my company.

I am interested in improving the art teams 3D modelling skills and techniques.

Their current skills are average, but I want to help them raise the bar.

I wanted to ask if anyone knows of a site or collection of tutorials that cover

best practices when it comes to modelling characters, maps, static geometry

especially when developing 3D content for a mobile game.

(We currently use Maya 2014 for modelling)

Any advice offered will be helpful.

Google for “Hourences tutorials” some are for old engine version but those tips are still valid for ue4.

Tutorials that directly answer some of your questions:

http://www.hourences.com/tutorials-ue3-modeling-1/

http://www.hourences.com/tutorials-ue3-modeling-2-advanced/

http://www.hourences.com/tutorials-mesh-rendering/

Just be aware that those tutorials are four years old. Depending on which generations of devices you’re targeting, 2014-era mobile devices are MUCH more capable than they were back in 2010, with many devices featuring multiple cores, 64-bit CPUs, much more capable GPUs, and high-PPI screens.

Honestly, I’ve been surprised what we can get running with UE4 on mobile devices without doing a lot of special work to make things “mobile ready”. We haven’t gotten to the point where we’re optimizing, and we see great frame rates. Early on, we were focused on keeping the poly count low and now we’re facing a situation where we have to re-model a bunch of our assets at higher poly counts so they look good on modern mobile devices.