APEX cloth ruins normals

Hi,

I’ve been stuck on the following issue since a few days:

I have this beautifully looking mesh (normals wise, let’s not start a discussion about my modelling skills - or lack thereof :stuck_out_tongue: ) :

Since skirts are hard to animate, and since I’m quite new to Unreal Engine and this project is meant to try out as many things as possible, I decided to give it some APEX cloth simulation. However, while the cloth simulation itself works fine, it completely messes up the normals/tangents/wathever is used for lighting, making it look like this:

When I make the material unshaded, everything still looks correct, so the normals seem to be the only thing that’s messed up.
I’ve tried it both with an fbx exported from Blender, with clothing created in nvidia’s tool that comes with the APEX SDK (while using various fbx exporter scripts with many different options), and I also tried importing the file in Maya and creating the clothing with the APEX Maya plugin, but unfortunately I haven’t been able to find a combination of tools and settings that does not mess up the normals.

I’ve inspected the normals of the mesh, and they seemed fine. I’ve also tried automatically recalculating the normals, again: same result. I’ve also tried negating all normals in the .apx file, but this didn’t seem to do anything.

Is there a way to fix the APEX file’s normals, or a working tool that correctly creates them, or a way to make unreal engine simply use the perfectly fine normals of the model itself instead of the corrupted ones from the APEX file?

Many thanks in advance.

have you tried re-calc the normals in apex, i show this in my latest blender apex video