BaseLightmass.ini - A Summary From Various Posts

Hi all,

I created this thread to summarize all good information from DanielW about Lightmass and BaseLightmass.ini in UE4. Achieving realistic lighting and rendering (in real time!) for archviz with UE4 is impossible without touching the BaseLighmass.ini and changing some of its variables according to your needs/scenes. The default lighting values however are already good for games or quick proof of concept archviz, but as we all know by now, it’s not enough for realistic rendering archviz. Almost all important variables in BaseLightmass.ini need further explanation, since they seem to have tight relation with each other. Generally you can not just change one variable without changing other variables. So hopefully with this thread we can together dissecting and understand BaseLightmass.ini better. It would be best if DanielW also could post some insights here.

DISCLAIMER: I’m not an expert at BaseLightmass.ini. This thread mainly contains summary of explanations from DanielW, Epic’s rendering and GI solver engineer, and also some test results (and their setting values) from Koola and Rafareis123 that was based on Raghu’s sample scene. Thanks to Raghu whom had started this thread and that thread has made me touch BaseLightmass.ini file (something that I was trying to avoid, but it seems impossible to achieve good lighting setup without messing with BaseLightmass.ini).

DISCLAIMER 2: DanielW has developed ‘light portal’ to address some issues that was asked by Raghu in above thread. So this thread might become obsolete whenever the light portal comes with UE4.11 (early 2016, hopefully). But for now, we still have to mess around with BaseLightmass.ini to achieve best lighting setup.