Exporting APEX cloth issue

Hello all!

I’m pretty new to animating so forgive my inexperience but I ran into a problem that I just can’t find the solution for. I’m using the PhysX plugin on Maya 2015. When I try to export my apex clothing, it always saves as a .pxproj but when I go over to UE4 and click “Add APEX clothing file”, it seems to only want to read either .apx or .apb. I’ve tried just giving it the .pxproj file anyway but an error message comes up and nothing happens (“Failed to import APEX clothing asset from the selected file”). I managed to find a post that was made on these forums about a year ago that seems to have my exact problem. Sadly there was no solution to that thread even though there was discussion. Here’s a link to that thread just in case https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?52944-Exporting-Importing-apex-cloth-problem.

I have considered the possibility that my plugin might be outdated, but I don’t really know how to check its version or update it. Looking up “how to update maya plugins” and “how to update physx plugin for maya” didn’t help me much. If anyone can help me with my problem that would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Sophie

First - get the latest Maya plugin for your version here: PhysX SDK | NVIDIA Developer

You may have to get an account, may take about a day to get approved (there aren’t any real requirements, you can put “N/A” in fields that don’t apply to you).

Secondly, you definitely want to export a .apx or .apb for it to work - .pxproj is going to be basically a file type for you to save your work in Maya, where as the .apx/.apb actually have the data as it’s needed for APEX to use in the game.

Unfortunately I can’t tell you what to press and stuff for the Maya version, but there are some tutorials you may be able to look at.