Did 4.2 break Paper2D Flipbooks?

I can’t get Flipbooks to render since updating. Is it just me?

Hi Sadonis,

Yeah, it looks like it was broken in 4.2, sorry about that (Paper2D is still experimental in 4.2 so it didn’t get much QA testing). I just checked in a fix into main (“Paper2D: Fix flipbook components not rendering”), which should be mirrored on to GitHub shortly. You should be able to easily apply the change to 4.2.

Edit: This is the fix: https://github.com/EpicGames/UnrealEngine/commit/62290e53c394036f1997bd0e1e2971c8e788c70d

Cheers,
Michael Noland

This may not be an appropriate place to ask this, but still.
I’ve never used GitHub before, so I have a question: if I also need this fix, but I just downloaded the installer for UE4 and ran it, no compiling of the source code or anything like that, is there a way for me to apply it to my UE4? This question may seem silly, but I really do not understand how this works.
Thanks!

A) Link is Error 404 for me.
B) I have concerns that Mirror that of Amanamongorcas. I haven’t tried to do it yet, but have never done it before. TYour use of the term “easy” makes me assume I can figure it out, though.

Edit: Ah, once I linked up with GitHub it no longer 404s

Heya,

Sorry if I wasn’t clear, I meant that it’s easy to apply the fix to an unmodified 4.2 branch, since those files haven’t changed since the branch was created.

One option would be to simply stick with 4.1 for now, but building from source isn’t too bad.

To get started, you need to install either Visual Studio or XCode (depending on your platform):

And download / fork the 4.2 branch from GitHub:

Once you’ve got the GitHub version built, you can apply the change either by manually applying the diff or doing a ‘cherry-pick’ of the commit 62290e53c394036f1997bd0e1e2971c8e788c70d.

Cheers,
Michael Noland

Heya,