[How-To | Troubleshooting] - Adding/Editing an item with a custom inventory

There are a few tutorials on this but I wanted to also show how to work through an issue by thinking diagnostically.

I have been a programmer for years, but I have little to no experience with graphics engines. I am building a mod called primitive plus which adds more items (nerfed in most cases) for a more immersive primitive experience. Let’s get down to business! For this piece of tI am making a modded crop plot that will take an alternative type of fertilizr (bonemeal). Bone meal is a mixture of finely and coarsely ground animal bones and slaughter-house waste products. It is used as an organic fertilizer for plants.

There are a few tutorials on this but i’ll give my take on it. This assumes you have already set up a folder and created a custom PrimalGameData. Also, I am not saying this is the best practice for doing these things. This is just an example of one way to do it and how to troubleshoot through issues

Primary Objectives

1. Add New Structure Type - (Crop Plot)
  2. Add New Consumable - (Fertilizer)
  3. Allow New Inventory Item in New Structure Type

Add New Structure Type
I hadn’t read any tutorials on this and started digging into the game myself. I read the basics on setting up a mod folder and game data but that was it. The rest was through experimenting and rational thinking.
1.Find the item you want to clone.