Display ~100,000 "points" without destroying performance

I’m attempting to implement a LIDAR-type graphical effect, similar to these examples:

&d=1436669394

&d=1435690792

I’ve solved the issues of projecting the rays onto the geometry, but I now I need a way to effectively display/render the points. Here’s what I have thus far:

This achieves my desired goal, however it completely kills my performance. I’m new to game creation and UE4, so I think my knowledge is limiting what I can try. Right now, I’m simply calling “Draw Debug Point” after performing a “Line Trace by Channel”:

The line traces occur through 2 for-loops and produce 91,648 total points in the spherical projection.

I’ve tried displaying the points as sprites, static meshes, and instanced static meshes, but all those functions tanked my performance much harder than “Draw Debug Point”. That said, I likely could have implemented those functions incorrectly. I’ve also tried using a Post-Processing Material, but I don’t think that’s the way to go from the research I’ve done.

Any ideas? I’m not sure what else to try.

Thanks in advance.

Isn’t that achievable with a Post Processing Effect…?

Or shading at least.

How would it be done with a Post Processing Effect?

The closest I’ve seen is this: Post Process Sonar Pulse Material - Rendering - Epic Developer Community Forums

But even that and others that I’ve experimented with don’t keep the shadows when I move away from the “ping” location.

That’s a really cool effect! The only optimization I could think of is lowering the amount of points at the bottom, where you hardly need any points, I believe.

The problem is that you are doing line tracing every frame and that’s why it’s so expensive (If I am not mistaken). You need to fake the effect, rather than actually make it.
This should be achievable with smart usage of Post Processing and Shaders, but I am not expert on either.