Quickie Blueprint Example: Spawn a Replicated Actor on the server-side using Blueprint

Here’s how you do it, since I’ve been asked a few times :wink:

You guys are too awesome. Thank you!

Well there goes me being productive at work today, I need to mess around with this a bit! :smiley:

im just wondering how i get in contact with someone in the ark dev team to fix problems with server side spawning? im currently making a teleport system and it works in pie but not in ark

Can you explain more about what is this do? I’m new to UnreadEngine so dont really familiar with the term like actor, bp

Thanks,

@gankey Does it work in Local Play at all?

@ Nguyen Ken; Take a look at 's “Distraction Arrow” for a real example of how it was used. Basically before I blueprinted in the authorities for the spider to spawn in on server side, it was just spawning in client side. The problem with that is, if it is not called on by the server, then it won’t actually be spawned in a server setting! So how you fix that is by using a blueprint like this to dictate it’s spawn being on server side and giving it those needed authorities. Hope this helps :slight_smile:

Any idea of how to set the ownership of the spawned actor?

asked many times no reply unfortunatly

I gave the best answer I could in the other thread it was asked in, but I don’t truly know myself at this point. I mentioned how I would first attempt to try it, but I don’t think that would work as intended :confused:

I wanted originally the Distraction Arrow to summon a spider that is owned by the player who summons it, but I couldn’t ever figure out a way at the time (was in a way older version of the dev kit).