Microphone input for audio analysis

Hi,

I’m new to the unreal engine, and I’m trying to wrap my head around adding a feature. If it works out, it would be a nice bonus to be able to contribute something to the engine.

I’ve been looking into getting audio input for analysis, and it works great on Windows and Mac using the IVoiceCapture interface. It’s obviously intended for voice chat, but i can get at the raw data at a reasonable interval.
However, I really need this feature on iOS and android. And it seems weird to me to implement an android and iOS module under the online section of the code as the feature has nothing to do with online.

Then I considered adding it to the Media Framework, perhaps by creating a new IMediaRecorder interface. This make some sense to me, but I would perhaps have to duplicate the windows and mac module in this new recorder module.

At this point, I’m settling on creating an IMediaRecorder interface and having the online voice section call into that code. But since I’m new to the engine, this might be a terrible idea.
I’m totally happy having my local version that does this, but if someone had some opinions on how I might do this in a manner that could potentially end up as a pull request, I would feel better about myself.

Or perhaps I have completely missed that this feature is already available? That would be sweet.

Any advice is highly appreciated,

+1 for this

I added support for audio and video capture hardware in Media Framework 3.0 (currently scheduled for 4.18). It is currently only implemented for Windows (audio and video) and Android (video only), however. More platforms will be added in 4.19. You could implement your own audio capture plug-in on top of that new API though. We are planning to finally merge to Dev-Main on Thursday. If everything goes well, the new API should be on Github before the end of the week.

, do you have progress in what you are doing?