Unreal Engine good for a beginner?

I am looking into buying subscription into unreal engine 4, but I have no experience in the unreal engine. I don’t know how to model and I don’t know how to code (c++ and the like).
I want to get into proper game design since I’ve been using the source engine from Valve for a while, but it just feels really limiting.
Would you guys recommend UE4 for a beginner? I would pretty much only use it for personal stuff and learning.

Sorry if I’m in the wrong board.

Yes, it’s is good for a beginner–much of what is changed over time is to make it easier to work with. Things like Blueprints allow you to be able to create gameplay like you would normally do with scripting but without actually knowing scripting. Lots of problems that other engines have to deal with aren’t a problem here. There’s also lots of examples to look at so you can learn.

It isn’t the type of thing though that you would make the entire game just from the editor, 3D assets need to be created in a different program and imported into UE4. There’s some simple geometry that can be created but that’s used for blocking out the level before you replace the geometry with your detailed meshes.

Where would the other 3D assets be created from if I may ask?

Are the documents on this engine free or do I have to subscribe first?

I have yet to see a reason why you can’t use what’s in the engine for basic walls/pillars though. The geometry might be a little weird, but if it’s not being animated, and not adding a ton of polys to the scene I don’t get what the problem is. Unless I’m missing something?

In my opinion the UE4 is (or generally the unreal engine ^^) is pretty easy to use. I also tried out the cryengine, but somehow for me it was harder to use then the ue

Some positive stuff that the UE4 has:

• blueprints
  • community
  • examples
  • many tutorials
  • documentation
  • material editor, cascade, landscape tool,…