Camera/Player follows spline in 1st Person

Hi everyone,

Im trying to use UE4 and the Rift to create architectural visualizations (im new to UE4). I would like to make the character strictly follow a spline (always looking forward along the line, which could have turns) but let the player choose with W or S how far on the spline they want to be, i dont know if im explaining myself well. Its basically like a matinee but with the player controlling when they move “forward along the spline I created”. I think that this method will lower the motion sickness of a person when they know they are free to look around but are limited to move in “one” direction (kinda like a nice and soft roller coaster).

I’ve seen this done in side scrolling games but I was wondering how to do that in a 1st person scenario using the Oculus rift.
Does anyone know how to do this? Any help and videos are welcomed!

Thanks in advanced for the help.

Regards,
Seichi

Here’s a pretty simple way, create a pawn blueprint with Spectator pawn as the parent class.
Then do this in the pawn blueprint:

Make the spline variable editable in your pawn. You will also need to make a spline blueprint. Then place the pawn and a spline in the level, if you click on the pawn you’ll be able to set the value of the spline variable to be the one you’ve placed in the map.

Hi,
thanks for the help Mosel3y! some questions though (new to UE4)…

I did the Spectator Pawn and I managed to add a Spline blueprint (SplineMeshActor BP)… how do I draw the spline?

If you place it in the level and select it, you can right click on the spline, and click “Add Spline Point Here”.

(Also, it shouldn’t be a spline mesh if that’s what you’ve done, it should be the other spline component in the list, just called spline)

With the spline selected, you can click any point on it and move, rotate, and scale that point.

In the pick the parent class list there is only the SplineMeshActor BP… 4.7UE4