ARK: Server Side Plugin / Mutator

Hello :slight_smile:

I’m completely new to UnrealEngine, so I appologize in advance for any dumb questions or assumptions!

I want to create a server-side plugin (mutator?) for my ARK: Survival Evolved server. But I feel pretty lost on how and where to start the project.

I already read A new, community-hosted Unreal Engine Wiki - Announcements - Epic Developer Community Forums and Damage in UE4 - Unreal Engine
Additionally there is a thread in the Steam Community addressing this issue a little bit: Steam Community :: Discussions

The user “Jeed” does a very good job at explaining on how you can achieve something and also already developed a small server-side plugin / mutator.
Unfortunately he only shows code-snippets and didn’t provide a source code for his plugin yet. Initialization, declarations, hooks, etc.
He also said that his plugin exists of two files: A “version.dll” and a .ini file. I guess the “version.dll” will be loaded by the server automatically. So I created a small empty .dll in Dev-C++, compiled it, renamed it to version.dll and copied it into the Binaries\Win64 folder. But when starting the server after that I get an error message saying that he cannot find the function “VerQueryValueW”.

I want to create a plugin / mutator which renders player structures immune to damage. Or in other words: I want to add a “Indestructable Bases” feature to my server.
In X64DBG I can open the ShooterGameServer.exe and thankfully the Devs provided a ShooterGameServer.pdb. I figured there is a function:

APrimalStructure::TakeDamage

When I set a breakpoint in X64DBG, it gets triggered whenever I hit a wall or a storage box. So I guess in my plugin I “just” need to hook this function and basically change its behaviour so it doesn’t forward the applied damage, but plain 0.