Paper2D: Some problems with my Sprites

Hey guys!

As i’m still a noob in game development, i wanted to stick with 2D games first. Now i activated the Paper2D plugin and started making animations from my spritesheets.

But i have a huge problem: my sprites (pixel art) are blurry and they are lit in the scene, eventhough there aren’t any lights and i attached a spritematerial to those sprites, where ‘Lightning Model’ is ‘Unlit’.

Here’s a picture of the scene with some sprites:

And here’s a picture of the spritesheet, imported in UE4:

(well, this doesn’t really look good :P)

So… does anyone know the trick? Because i’m simply stumped for an answer. :smiley:

Oh, and i didn’t changed anything on those settings. So everything’s at “normal state”. :wink:

Sincerely

Hi Gamixie,

Not sure about the lighting; that should be 100% controlled by the material assigned to the sprite, but you want to change filtering from linear to nearest on the texture you used for your spritesheet to get rid of the blurriness.

Cheers,
Noland

Hey !

Thanks for your answer!

I use the ‘DefaultSpriteMaterial’. Do i have to change something on this material?

My character is now 100% sharp, but it seems like he’s to sharp, because the right eye is a bit to big. Here’s a picture:
ue4_sprite.JPG

What i changed on the spritesheet:
Filter: Nearest
Compression Settings: TC Editor Icon

Sincerely

Hi Gamixie,

You are not at a pixel multiple of the size of your sprite. To get ‘pixel-perfect’ sprites you need to move your camera in or out (perspective) or adjust the ortho width (orthographic) until you end up at a nice multiple. For example, say you want to have a 320 ‘pixel’ screen but the actual screen width is 1920, then you need to be back so that each ‘pixel’ is really 6 pixels on the screen. If you’re not exactly on a multiple, you’ll see some source pixels being larger than others (e.g., if you’re at 4.5, then some pixels will map to 4 destination pixels while others map to 5).

Cheers,