Support Stream - Blueprint Optimization - May 19th

If you’re working with Blueprints at all, then this is the stream to catch. and go in-depth with the do’s and don’ts for getting your Blueprints optimized. Ever wonder if there was a better way to do something? Want to not be so dependent on Tick? Timers, Interfaces and Casting will be demystified.

WHAT
, Whiting and discuss Blueprints and how to get the best performance out of them.

WHERE
Follow us on the official Unreal Engine Twitch channel:

WHEN
Tuesday, May 19th @ 2:00-3:00PM EST Countdown]

WHO
, Technical Writer
Whiting, Lead Programmer
, (@]())

Feel free to ask any questions on the topic in the thread below! We’ll get to as many as we can!

Edit: The YouTube archive is available here](Blueprint Optimization | Live Training | Unreal Engine - YouTube)

Awesome! I can’t wait for this because I’m still a novice in UE4. Learning how to optimize blueprints will be really useful :smiley:

[QUESTION] How would you debug the performance cost of a specific blueprint nodes? Let’s say I know function X is expensive, but I don’t know what nodes in said function are the bad ones.

For example, I recorded some data with session frontend and according to that it seems that a lot of the math nodes are cheap while the get array node is expensive. I figured that the get nodes would be extremely cheap since you’re getting an item at a certain index. Although I don’t understand anything about session frontend so I might just be misunderstanding something.

[QUESTION] Need help implementing new blueprint OSS nodes - Multiplayer & Networking - Epic Developer Community Forums

[Question]
Delays or Timers?..

[Question]
How performant is casting, and if it should be avoided, what are some other design patterns that could commonly be used instead?

[Question]
All things being equal, does a static mesh actor have less overhead than an equivalent Blueprint Actor?