[TEMPLATE] Fighting Game ^_^

Updated 29.09.2015! Small Progress for Paper2D Template! :slight_smile: 66th post!

Hello everyone!

For around 2 months I am working on a project related to our old-school fighting games. You know, 2 players, regular stages etc.

Before I move on to the real deal though, I am working on a template which I will share with community when I am feeling comfortable about it, and when it is finished.

I have very little experience with coding, and all I am using is blueprints so I am learning as I go ahead with it. I made the basic animations for now alongside with little core mechanics, so I decided to make a thread about it. Why not?!

Here is the first video, presenting the basic core system. Local multiplayer, a camera, and a stage with limited space to play on. :slight_smile:

Next video is about collision. 90% done. Still need to iron it out. :3

Lastly a very short video demonstrating animations for both left and right side standings. (30% slower for showing blending is “okay-ish” ^^)

** <---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------> **
** <------------------------------------------------------- UPDATE 05.15.2015 ----------------------------------------------------------> **
** <---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------> **

• Player BP is almost done. It works flawlessly. It got it’s own gravity system and on hit component event to find out if it is on ground or not, aka mimicing “IsFalling” of movement component. Biggest outcome so far is having no variables that I don’t use. So it is way less confusing for a newcomer to Unreal 4.

• Various bugs are fixed when it comes to jumping continuously on top of the another player. Blending were slightly going mad time to time, but now fixed. \o/