Things that would make me switch to Unreal from Unity

I’m a Unity developer but I really want to switch from Unreal because Unity never fix any bugs and Unreal looks more fun with Blueprints. But I’m not ready to make the jump just yet. Here are the things that would make me switch:

1. C# compatibility. (It could still be compiled down to C++ code using .NET Native). I love using C#. C++ is soooo old school.
  2. More modular so that you could make more streamline games just using the bits you need. (The people in the Twitch stream says they’re working on that.)
  3. Unreal to work better on low end laptops like MacBook Air. (Perhaps a lite version that could be used on laptops to make simple mobile games).
  4. Stop it recompiling 300 shaders every so often. What is up with that???
  5. Better widgets.
  6. Make the IDE load quicker in 5 seconds or less.

Basically just better for the casual user. Not dumbing down exactly. But making things more obvious - not so many panels - simplify everything. The good thing about Unity you will notice is that it has very few menus and almost no special functionality. Everything else is basically a plugin. That is an advantage because of it’s unified framework it is easier to learn.

I’m looking forward to Unreal 5 but I don’t think I’m ready to make the jump just yet.

PS. I mostly make mobile games (Android/IOS) and Windows 8 store games for PC.

1. Not happening natively. UE4 C++ is simple once you get the hang of it.

2. I honestly have no idea what this means.

3. If you turn down the viewport quality it runs quite good on low end devices in my experience. Still, there’s only so muh thay can be done.

4. I had this issue when the derived data cache was being inaccessible. You should ask about that on the answerhub.

5. What? UMG has all your standard widgets, you can build anything with it.