[TUTORIAL] Smash Bros-style multiplayer camera system (blueprints)

Hello all! I just started learning Unreal a little over a week ago and I’d like to show you something I’ve cooked up. I thought for my first foray I’d get to know the camera system in Unreal. The goal was to make a system similar in function to Super Smash Bros, wherein the camera actor relocates and zooms to keep all characters in view. I noticed that several other people have had the same idea, but there wasn’t a definitive source on getting it to work with 4 characters. I did finally get it to work last week, and although it was pretty simple in retrospect, I thought I’d share my work in case anybody can get some use out of it.

All credit goes to Praseodyl for getting me started with his/her 2-player tutorial, found here. I will be describing how to use that tutorial as a foundation for a 4-player system, so if there’s anything I haven’t covered it is likely covered in there.

A note: This tutorial is intended for beginners like myself, so please bear with me if I’ve made any obvious mistakes. Corrections and advice are welcome!

Another note: I’m starting with the Side Scroller Template with blueprints, as this is a resource everyone has access to.

So, to get started, we want to remove the default camera from the SideScrollerCharacter. To do this, go to the character’s blueprint and simply delete the camera and camera arm. Once you’re done, the viewport should look something like this:

We’ll be making our own camera blueprint, so there’s no need for an extra one here. Feel free to ignore the capsule around his arm, as that’s not relevant to our current project.