Using Photogrammetry

Hi,

I am assuming everyone saw the UE4 Kite demo.
For the last few month I’ve been using photogrammetry, and after watching the “GDC 2015 Creating the Open World Kite Real-Time Demo in Unreal Engine 4”, I found that epic was using photogrammetry too. Of course Epic results were better than mine and I want to discuss why.
I also want to discuss the tools and techniques, the equipment, the software and plugins they used.

So here’s what I did: (I’m gonna take a rock as an example)

I took images with my cannon 450D of a rock.
I used JPEG and autodesk recap360 (Educational license, because I am a student).
Recap generated some High Res 3D models, some of them were usable some were not.

Once the models were generated, there was a few gap that I needed to edit, I was not able to due to the high vertex density. I am using 3ds max btw.
The models were no way easy to manipulate. I had to Crunch a few models, then make a retopology of the crunched models, then bake the original high res to the re-topology. And the results were kinda usable.
Does anyone know a software then can cap the holes of a 3D scans maybe use something similar to the clone tool in Photoshop but in 3D, also a software that can combine multiple 3D scans?

What Epic did:

I would like to discuss the equipment they used and how can we minimize the cost without making a major impact on the quality.

First, why the 5D Mark III? I am aware it is the best camera, but it is also the most expensive one. Does anyone suggest another one that can deliver the same result (if it can film videos too, that would be great)
They also mentionned in the presentation that they used uncompressed RAW 16 bit TIFF. So the camera need to support that.
Why did they need 3 cameras? Can we pull it off with just one? Also what lens is recommended?
What is the recommended FOV and camera distance, shutter speed and other settings to capture the photos?