OK Newbie I've built a Cube based benchmark and been disappointed with performance!

Hi, Here is a screenshot of my benchmark

You can download the benchmark here

That’s right Unreal on my PC only managed 534.0 cubes with a target FPS of 30fps, OK it looks great but!

The benchmark, rotates a cube then while the FPS is above the target it adds another child cube within a random spherical distance from the root cube.

This is my first attempt with Unreal of a simple project and I’m hoping to obtain some advice on how to improve the performance of this benchmark.

I have a Unity based version of this benchmark and it can spin about 5,000 cubes with colliders on my PC. Now Unreal has PBR but I’m sure with your help and advice I will be able to improve on this.

So what can I do to this default project using blueprint to improve performance?

Well it’s all apples and oranges. There is a lot you can do to improve performance, it just depends on how good you want things to look. I don’t think you can (easily) come up with a baseline comparison between engines, unless you disable everything but simple geometry rendering. But then that’s hardly representative of the engine’s capabilities. Ultimately what matters is how fast the engines are at rendering the difficult stuff.

For engine comparison I thought that if I used the same basic model, textures, camera and algorithm then I would obtain a standard baseline for both engines.

As all I am measuring is how many textured cubes Unreal and Unity can keep spinning at a given FPS or the engines CubeMark.

In the Unity version I run 3 tests, cubes with colliders, cubes without and quads then combine the number of cubes/quads into a CubeMark. And you can test the CubeMark at 30 or 60fps.

The idea was to give developers an insight into how many simple objects the game engine can move at a given frame rate.

Also I used Unity’s Quality settings so people could see the difference between settings.