Disappointed with Oculus compatibility. Is there hope?

Hello folks. I am new to development both for Oculus and UE4, I was hoping to get some opinions from people who have been in the game longer than I have.

Basically my options were to develop for UE4, or Unity, and I chose UE4 because it seemed to have a better visual appeal. However, in the 3 weeks that I’ve been working with it (daily), I have yet to publish anything with an acceptable performance with the engine. I get the widely-reported lock at 37.5 FPS issue.

I have searched the internet for solutions, and everything I have tried has failed to improve performance, even a little. My computer hardware isn’t brand spanking-new or anything, but it is reasonable. I have yet to play a game that had suffering performance, and the UE4 projects I’ve published operate in the neighborhood of ~200fps before turning on Oculus mode, so I find it pretty unreasonable for Oculus mode to operate at roughly 1/5th what my hardware should be capable of. Mostly I am just disheartened by the fact that I am finding message board threads reporting this issue as far back as spring 2014, and every thread I read seems to end with out a definitive solution to the problem.

So for those of you that are still developing for Oculus with UE4, can you offer me some hope? Is it simply a matter of patience and needing these companies to update their software? Or is there some magic solution that seems to be unreported in all of the threads I’ve been reading?

What have you tried so far?

For my current test, I’ve had to disable things like AA and motion blur, and then in game use “hmd sp 100” and things run pretty well
Using 4.6.1

Yeah, what you are seeing happens out of the box. Add “hmd vsync off”, “hmd sp 100” and “fullscreen” console commands in your level blueprint after event begin play.

So far the variables I’ve modified, in different combinations, are:

-UE4 version
-Console command “hmd sp x”