FPS/RPG mechanics (similar to Stalker)

Hi guys, I’ve been developing this game for the past 4-5 months. I’ve done AI, Weapons, Inventories, Looting, Vehicles and other things so far. Just showing off some progress, not sure what I’m going to be doing here - I might change the setting/time period entirely.

COMBAT MECHANICS

https://youtube.com/watch?v=rreBbG1yHd8
https://youtube.com/watch?v=yBitygFQ7Gg

VEHICLE MECHANICS

https://youtube.com/watch?v=_9orCFbrr4o
https://youtube.com/watch?v=TWaIOgx0XS4

More in the next post…

RPG MECHANICS

And that’s it! I appreciate any comments, FYI this was all done in C++ with UI done in blueprints.

That’s a lot of features. Great job!

Looking Great!

You’ve created quite a number of interesting titbits there :slight_smile:
But dammit, now I wanna play S.T.A.L.K.E.R…

That’s amazing!

By the way, how did you recreate the free aim system from Insurgency/RO2? Can you give me some points on how you approached the algorithm?

I’ve been looking everywhere for some references on how to apply that to my game, any help will be appreciated :smiley:

I think that’s TextureRenderTarget2D. He may have a SceneCapture attached to the tip of the gun and when he starts aiming, it updates the texture on scope.

I mean the arm movement while aiming, he moves the camera and it moves the arms first, then it moves the camera.

I’ve been trying to re-create that behavior but I can’t grasp my head around the way it’s implemented, is the camera moving after the arms have moved to a certain X/Y local position?

When you move the mouse (x or y) you add a to a variable, say FVector2D FreeAim. (AddPitchInput perhaps)

Then in your viewmodel code, you can simply go.

float FreeaimMultiplier = 5.0f;

float Pitch = FreeAim.Y;
float Yaw = FreeAim.X;
Pitch *= FreeaimMultiplier;
Yaw *= FreeaimMultiplier;

SetRelativeRotation(Pitch,Yaw, 0);

This will make sure the weapon weapon model adds additional pitch/yaw based on the freeaim variable.