Is this possible

Hi,

I’m trying to make a mesh not render past another one, here is an example of what i’m trying to avoid

I was thinking that the only way could be possible is with some sort of sorting priority, like always having the boat drawn over the water

Is an effect like possible with UE4?

Here is another example

Having let’s say a water plane and a sphere, and not have the plane visible through the sphere

You could make a depth mask post process. Like making a hidden object the shape of the body and use that to hide the water.

Thanks Errvald, very interesting suggestion

I have never done anything like that before so i’ll have to do some looking around, let me know if you have interesting links

You can start from here: .unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Engine/Rendering/PostProcessEffects/PostProcessMaterials/index.html

Can’t help you more though, never done before.

EDIT:
Tom Looman (also posts on forums) might be able to help you since he’s done similar custom depth materials. example:

Thanks for your help, really appreciated

I have managed to get effect but as you can see all the water gets blocked behind the glass sphere and not just inside of it, also it wouldn’t have worked if my water plane wasn’t translucent

Why do i always pick the complicated stuff

1 Like

That’s ok for the boat though right?

It should, also the boat is not my main concern as i can easily avoid it by tweaking the buoyancy, i used the penetrating wave scenario as an example

The main concern is really having a submarine or a diving suit going underwater and not having the water surface, fog and particles inside the vehicle

Pixeldepth or Scenedepth opacity masking in the material may be a solution for when you are inside the submarine or the diving suit.

Another approach would be to handle inside the water material. If you transfer the center location and radius of the sub’s glass sphere you can easily calculate the area that needs to be masked.

Pros:

• Cheap