Reading the face of Dice?

Hello! Friendly noob here! I have a dice in game you can role, but how would I make a BP to read what side is up and pass the value? Well I know how to pass value, but setting values to different side and such is a mystery to me. Any body know where I can start with this?

Few different approaches. First, how are your dice textured? Separate texture per face or one texture wrapped?

The easiest way I can think of off the top of my head is to have a box component for each face. When something collides with the component you set a value to what would show on the opposite side. Making sure that only the surface the die rolls on can trigger the components is important though. :slight_smile: This means when the die stops moving one only one of the box components should be colliding with the floor. Hope this helps.

My die is 8 sided diamond shaped and it has one texture, but I can always add more. How would you use that method? With the box component, how would you use box because when you roll it, it will collide with the surface when its rolling. Then how would you get up side when it stops?

Set up a trace for each face and then get trace that hits the floor when velocity is 0 - the opposite side of the hit trace is the face up. Since you already know what number is which trace’s opposite face it shouldnt be difficult. Not practical for more faces though, i’m afraid. :\

Here’s a picture that might help you. The box component would set a variable to a value of that on the opposite side. As the die rolls it’ll keep change the variable until it finally comes to rest.

I will try these methods. What about texture that jared was talking about? Can you use elements?

I’d look at the orientation of the die when it came to rest instead of trying to use box component sensors or something.