US > Canada: Withholding Tax

I have a few questions for Epic and the community regarding content creators submitting from Canada.

1. I was wondering if anyone at Epic or on the forums has any Idea how much % is the witholding tax for payments from the US to Canada?

2. Are any Canadians selling currently on the marketplace and have any information on their sales which could indicate how much they are losing profit to withholding tax?

3. Are there any other taxes such as local taxes or some tax I don’t even know which will also apply?

I’m very new to and just trying to prepare & educate myself before making content for the marketplace.
If anyone has any information it would be very appreciated, thanks! :cool:

I know as a consumer, if it’s $20 on Marketplace I only pay $20 for it, there are no taxes applied (hooray! 14% tax sucks…) :smiley:

But I would also be interested to hear more about how works for the seller.

The withholding TAX is always the same for everyone max 30%(which means you will have max withhold), unless you can prove you are not from US, and your country have tax treaty signed.

You need ITIN number, to do not have tax withholding.

The good thing is that getting ITIN is now much easier. You just need signed copy of your country personal ID instead of passport signed by your local US embassy.

Once you obtained ITIN you won’t be subject of US tax withholding, but you still will have to pay your local taxes.

thanks for your input @ iniside

Although, now I’m completely confused on what the withholding tax is. Why would Epic write about :

By country-specific withholding tax don’t they mean from their payment from THEM to YOU? So wouldn’t that be Canadian(or whatever other country) withholding tax? So what does the US withholding tax have to do with ? and How would an ITIN even help since the content creator is not the one paying Epic rather the other way around? Am I even understanding correctly?