Using Widget to Control Matinee

Let me start of and say that I am learning UE4, blueprints, C++, and so on as I build my game. I’m new to this. Here’s my dilemma: I have a widget called MainMenu and as you could infer it controls Continue, Start, Options and Exit. I’m using buttons to trigger changes whether is be starting, changing the menu, brightness, and so on. I’ve got that down. Where I’m running into a problem is: I want the start button to trigger a matinee event. When you click start, the camera swings over to another room. Currently in my level are two Matinee actors. Matinee 1 is a stationary camera. Matinee 2 is the swing camera. Matinee 1 is being initiated by a box trigger. So as long as the player is in the box, the matinee will continue to run on a loop. I read I should use an Event Dispatcher to communicate between a blue print and a level blue print, but that is only good for actors in the level I thought; won’t work with a widget? I hope I’ve explained all that you need to help me out. Thanks

Hi Davigeist, another new user! :smiley:
I don’t know if I understand exactly your problem, but you can use a sort of “bypass”.

We have HUD BP, UMG BP and LEVEL BP .

**HUD BP
**- Make a Boolean Variable. We call it “MATINEE - BYPASS”

**UMG BP
**- Make a Boolean Variable. We call it “MATINEE - PLAY/STOP”

Now you choose when this variable is True and when it’s False.
True = Play Matinee.
False = Stop Matinee.

• Make a Branch node
  • Connect “GET MATINEE - PLAY/STOP” to Branch node
  • If “MATINEE - PLAY/STOP” is:
    — True:
    ------ Make a Get All Actors of Class node (Class is your HUD BP)
    ------ Make a GET node
    ------ Connect “Out Actors” of “Get All Actors of Class” to “Target Array” of GET
    ------ Make a “Cast to HUD BP” node from the GET Output
    ------ Make a “SET MATINEE - BYPASS” node from “As HUD BP C” Output
    ------ SET MATINEE - BYPASS: True

— False:
------ Make a Get All Actors of Class node (Class is your HUD BP)