Unreal Revit

Hi,

I am starting this tread to gather enough info to start the process of the getting Revit Data aka Modeled Geomentry into the Unreal Engine 4. I am looking for people input. Through this I would like to create a pipeline. My knowledge of Revit is advance but I’m learning entry level of Unreal Engine.

What is the most practical approach.

???

I’m a BIM manager and I can tell you from experience you can import Revit geometry directly to Unreal by exporting it as an .fbx file. However, you’re going to have some issues unless you pass the Revit model through another application like 3DS Max to re-scale the geometry and create your UV’s, beforehand.

Revit will not create UV’s for your models and in my experience, your geometry is going to be pretty messy (very high poly and un-optimized geometry, inverted face normals, etc.).

If you just want a quick walk-through of your Revit model, you can make some minor tweaks in 3DS Max and have a decent, untextured model to view in Unreal. For anything more - even close to an ArchViz quality scene (let alone photo-real) - you’re better off re-modelling everything in another program.

This is why you don’t see architects pulling their revit models directly for renders; instead they re-model/hire another company for visualizations.

Hope this helps.

If you’re using UE4.5+ and you’re only importing simple meshes like walls, floors and such, then you usually can do a direct port with no hassle or fuss.

If you’re using an older version and/or have more complex geometry like pipes, furniture etc, then you’re going to have to pass the file through a program that can do lightmapping as mentioned above by Kadeschui.

Some tips:

1. Try to break up larger models. If you have a house with 10 rooms, don’t import them all at once as one model. Break it up into seperate rooms and import 10 files, then just drop them into the scene (they should automatically be arranged if you click+drag them in all at once)