Joystick Plugin

Hi.

I have created a little plugin to use joysticks with the unreal engine 4. The source is based on the hydra plugin.
The plugin is still untested but quite usable.
I’m still very new to Unreal Engine development, so please be clement, if the source code has architectural mistakes…

Any comment or suggestion is very welcome.

Resources:
Plugin download: GitHub

Sounds awesome! Personally, I’d like to see more joystick games.

Elite Dangerous is a good example!

, you spelled “Steering Wheel” wrong :stuck_out_tongue:

Hey Ikarus76 this is very awesome!

Just tested this plugin on my Saitek Evo Force and it worked out of the box! Because you used the hydra plugin as a basis, I felt straight at home and the component and event driven interface implementation makes me happy. Glad you could make use of the base code :slight_smile:

Feedback(This is my opinion):
-[Bug]Each event emits twice, I believe this is because you call the delegate event both from within FJoystickPlugin and in JoystickBlueprintDelegate. The hydra plugin was structured like this to support both C++ events and the interface events, but it did this by forwarding the C++ events to the interface events in BlueprintDelegate, whereas you check for changes and emit the interface events a second time.
-Add input mapping for the buttons and axis
-Maybe normalize joystick input to 0-1.0 (but this may be difficult since one joystick may emit a different range from another, mine was 0-65536 (2^16) for all axis and sliders, Pov -1 for neutral, 0-31500 for directions)
-In events I would recommend merging all the axis values into one event e.g. JoystickAxisMoved(FVector) instead of 3 separate events.
-My joystick has force feedback and I was wondering if there is a way to control or call vibration from within WinJoystick?

My test graphs:

where print functions are defined by

and