HUD causes game to Crash, if spawning 2 players

Hi,

i’m new to program in C++, but not new in programming at all (C on micro-controllers for years).
But now i ran into a problem and i don’t understand the cause of this.

My code is mostly from the First Person Shooter C++ Tutorial. I only left out the First-Person Mesh and all Animation stuff.
I tried now to add a HUD. I set up a public variable for my AStdCharacter inside of AStdCharacter.h

//Current Health of the Player
	UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere, BlueprintReadWrite, Category = Health)
	float fHealth;

I’m initializing it with 100.
Inside of the PlayerHUD.cpp, i added

const float fLower = Canvas->ClipY * 0.95f;
	const float fLeft = Canvas->ClipX * 0.025f;
        AStdCharacter* MyPawn = Cast<AStdCharacter>(GetOwningPawn());
	float health = MyPawn->fHealth;
	DrawText(FString::Printf(TEXT("Health %f"), health),  FColor::Black, fLeft, fLower, HUDFont, 2.0f, false);

This worked for a time - then i tried to spawn 2 Players (Inside of the Editor, with “Play”). The game crashed (Access violation - code c0000005 (first/second chance not available))

As soon as i want to spawn a second player the game crashes. If i only spawn 1 Player, everything is fine. What am i doing wrong? I’m sure i missed something essential out, but i don’t know what.

Hello.

DrawHUD might be ticking when owning pawn is not AStdCharacter actually, check it against null before accessing it.

Thank you, that worked!

AStdCharacter* MyPawn = Cast<AStdCharacter>(GetOwningPawn());
	if (MyPawn)
	{
		float health = MyPawn->fHealth;
		this->DrawText(FString::Printf(TEXT("Health %f"), health),  FColor::Black, fLeft, fLower, HUDFont, 2.0f, false);
	}

Take into account that you are now using C++, any access to a NULL pointer will result in crashes. I recommend you to ALWAYS check that the pointer is not pointing to NULL.