[C++] Ledge Detection / Parkour Engine

After much thought I decided to re-post my WIP thread.

This is a vertex-based ledge detection engine which I’ve been working on. It currently has the usual vaulting,high vaulting, ledge climbing, ledge movement, ledge contour, and so on.
In the following video - might not be noticeable since I moved the camera - there is a bug, well its not a bug, its a temporary fix, basically since I’m a terrible animator, my ledge contour animation hits the wall, so to prevent it I added a small Y offset, so when he goes around the ledge, his hands/body aren’t in the right place, but hopefully the animation problem will be solved soon and I can remove the offset.

My approach isn’t better than other engines you can find in the forums (e.g. 's), actually its worse; it came to life because I’m stubborn, I decided I had to try to make an engine version that as far as I could see, none had attempted before, and well, here it is. The goal is to use the information the Engine already has, making is at cheap as possible, as well as no raytracing in the entire process, from the detection, to movement restrictions,etc, and I’m pretty close to it - only one raytrace remains. There is a lot to be done in terms of algorithm, as it stands, it works fine for straight meshes, but if you add a rope or something with a curve, the character movement wont adapt. The good news is, it can easily be added - or so I hope. Anyway the video follows, any criticism is welcome:

nice!
i like it

Does it work with static meshes, bsp & terrain?

Just curious :slight_smile:

Either way, looking good, as always.
Sometimes it pays to be stubborn.

Thank you both for your replies.

@Kris- In theory, yes, in practice, no because I restricted the action to Meshes - on purpose to allow for a greater control of the behavior.

PS- Rule 21 is a good life lesson ahah

Very nice! It is looking good.
I am looking forward to see where this is going.