VR for projection environments?

I see posts here about work integrating the Rift into Unreal. I was wondering if anyone was working on integration with (multiple) projection surfaces. I work in a lab with access to a CAVE system. I have a student over the summer working on getting Unity in a CAVE, and I’d like to get something Unreal in there as well. Unfortunately, I have zero Unreal development experience, so other than having already purchased the UE4 source, I’m overwhelmed on where to start.

Things I’m interested in…

• Active stereoscopic 3D (frame interlaced); either OpenGL or D3D (Win7 is strongly preferred)
  • Multiple non-planar display surfaces
  • User head and hand tracking. Integration with VRPN or TrackD preferred.
  • Asymmetric camera projection frustums. Combine with head tracking to create 1:1 scale view.
  • Multi-host cluster support large numbers of display outputs.

The closest thing I’ve seen is CaveUDK (http://hci.uni-wuerzburg.de/projects/caveudk.html) which is awesome, but not available for public release.

Thanks.

Mike

+1 to this!

I’m interested VRPN integration into in UE4

I have no experience with or access to a CAVE system, but I will happily collaborate on a VRPN plugin, and I have previous UE4 InputDevice plugin experience

While we haven’t done any projection environment work here, most of the hooks that you’d need should be available to do this kind of work.

• Active stereoscopic rendering