Interactive, shapeable Snow

Hi there.

I am a total beginner with UE, and is probably waaaaaay over my head. I was wondering if it is possible to create interactive snow/sand?

For example, if my character has a shovel, and I poke the shovel into the sand/snow, and pick it up again, will I be able to dig a hole based on how hard/deep I poke my shovel, and create a proportionally sized mount when I unload my shovel? Can I shape mound then, like a sandcastle?

To be more precise, I want to try make a snowball fight game, where you can pick up snow anywhere on the ground, form a ball and then throw it. Where you picked up the snow should be a realistic hole. If, for example, you dig enough, you can make yourself a little trench to hide, or if you pack the snow, you can make a wall. So I want to be able to manipulate snow in the game the same as you would be able to in real life. The snow doesn’t have to look realistic (it can be stylized or whatever), but it should act realistic.

My gut feeling tells me that might not be possible, and even if it is, would probably make mince meat out of your cpu or gpu. But no harm in asking, right?

Thanks in advance!

just a guess, but you might be able to simulate effect by using destructive surfaces… by tesselating your terrain in pre-established holes all over the place… then as you perform an action with your character… you could destroy the mesh… then spawn a snowball into your hand…

Hi,

@: wouldn’t necessarily be the best option because you would need different depth layers for destruction and I believe there is a limit of 5-6 layers. I may be wrong on that but It’s not an infinite amount.

Using something like Morph Targets or swapping out meshes that would simulate kind of effect would be a better more optimized route.

is just my theory on creating something like and there may be better ways but I’m just throwing out some ideas here.