Are there plans to add the ability to override virtual functions in Blueprint?

This would be an enormously useful feature, and one of the few things preventing me from coding my entire project in Blueprint (along with the inability to make actor component classes). I’ve been using C++ for something around a decade, but Blueprints compile much faster and are easier to debug. For now I’ll continue to use C++ in order to prevent implementing things in hackish ways. Has anything been said about adding such a feature? Thanks!

I am not a programmer, but I am curious what overriding a virtual function would do and how that would work.

As an extremely basic example, it would do something like this…

Let’s say you have an actor class called Base_Pickup_Class.

When it is ‘collected’ on one inherited version of the class, a function would be called which would do something.
For ease of explanation, lets say it was something visual like spawning a particle effect.

In another inherited version of the class, the same function would be called when it was collected.
However a different action would happen, for example a decal would spawn on the ground.

So you could have 3 classes…
Base_Pickup_Class, and inherited from that, Particle_Pickup_Class, and Decal_Pickup_Class.

I’m almost certain you can already do this with custom events, or blueprint interfaces.
But since i’ve been waiting for some software to arrive i haven’t really had a chance to check specifics.

So you want the function in the parent class, and you want the children to be able to use it to different effects?

Couldn’t you just have a general function that has different endings in each of the children?

Parent: Item Collected, then do X.
Child 1: When X called, do Y.
Child 2: When X called, do Z.