How would you generate a random number then use this to decide something?

Hey guys,
I’m trying to figure something out, more as a learning process rather than something to actually use in a game, but I’m not really sure how to start with it - I’m a complete beginner with UE4 and Blueprints, so please help me in as basic a way as you can!

What I’m trying to do is have a trigger event (onActorBeginOverlap) generate a random number (an integer I’m guessing) between say 1 and 10, then use that number to decide something else. For a simple example I want the player to walk over a trigger, have it generate a random number, then depending on what that number is print a different message on screen.
So player->overlaps trigger ->number randomly generated->if number=7 then print “Banana Hammocks Rock!” etc…

I’ve tried to look over the content examples but can’t really get my head around why certain things are ordered the way they are in blueprint. Could someone please point me in the right direction to achieve this?

Thanks,

G

Rather that the lengthy text explanation, I just did a Blueprint quickly which works OK. There may be a more efficient way of doing it.

Hehe, good you made it before me!
You can also use a switch to perform different actions:

like so:

http://imageupper.com/s02/1/4/E1398891918649268_1.png

Case of thingy is what you need:

This is made for checking if random is equal to something, but you can do same with greater or less, or mix, just start with highest or lowest number then cut off results.

Or with integer you can make this cascade of compare int’s, collapse it all into macro then you get exec&integer as input and exec corresponding to index as output

PS: dam that switch on int is what i was about to do :smiley: good to know that its there already.