Seeking guidance for movement system (spline locked, side on, free "flight")

Hi all,

I’m hoping some of you guys will be able to help me out with the initial movement setup for an idea I want to develop. I’ll start by explaining that I am an artist with no code experience, so blueprints are still pretty baffling to me. I’ve spent a good while playing around with the sidescroller demo and have yet to achieve what I’m after.

The basics movement I’d like to implement initially is best seen in the old Sega Saturn game NiGHTS into Dreams (NiGHTS Into Dreams - HD - Part 1 - YouTube). Beyond that I hope to have learned enough to continue on my own.

can be broken down into:

• Movement is locked to a plane/track. Whilst the sidescroller template locks the players movement in one axis of the world, I would like to be able to place splines in the world that loop and define where the player/camera is locked to. You can always move left/right and view the character side on but the tracks moves throughout the environment.

• Movement should not be locked to the floor but rather free flight within the plane of the track mentioned above. I made some progress on getting work work using the sidescroller template by adding a water volume and having the character “swim”, but the rotation I achieved was not ideal. The character should re-orientate to the direction currently being pushed on the left stick. If the stick is released then movement should stop (ideally with some drift/deceleration), the character re-orientates to being upright and a very low amount of gravity kicks in so that they gently fall back down to earth.

If anyone can suggest methods to achieve any or all of goal I would be very greatful and will hopefully learn plenty in the process.

Thanks.