Lava level, Help!

Hi! I’m a student at a university in Sweden, SU.
I’m currently working on my very first project; a tower that slowly fills with lava as the player climbs it.
This is also where I’m stuck… We don’t get much help with our projects and I cannot for the life of me figure out how to make the lava rise from
the bottom of the tower to the top over time, and make it lethal to the player.
I’ve played around with the blueprints, but trial and error haven’t gotten me anywhere.
We’re working exclusively in UE4 atm, with access to most demos (for example, the lava demo im using for lava) and assets.
Please help :slight_smile:

Hi Joiny7,

Welcome to the forums! :slight_smile:

This isn’t too hard to achieve what you’re wanting to do through Blueprints.

To create the lava rising the way you like, need to create a BP with a static mesh component that is your lava rising. Depending on what you’re doing this could be a simple plane with a lava material.

Here is a simple setup for the BP that will get you started with having this plan lerp between a location A and B. One cool thing about this is that We can set and origin and endpoint variable that we can change in the editor without having to reopen the BP. The endpoint variable we can set to have a 3D widget that can be adjusted and it will move to this point every time.

Take a look at this and if you have any questions feel free to ask!

Here in the timeline you will make a new Float variable that you can set the beginning time to 0 and 0. Add another key for the end time and set it to the 1 for value and [your time length] for Time. Also make sure to set the length (mine is 10) for the amount of time you want it to take to get from the origin point of the BP to the end point.

Final result with the endpoint that you can move in the editor.