Flat shading tips/techniques

Disclaimer: I’m a total newbie when it comes to shaders, materials and art in general, so please forgive misunderstandings/errors.

Recently there’s been a fair amount of interest in a flat shaded style (often known as ‘low poly’ style, though that usually has a different meaning in the context of game art). I myself am experimenting with it because I think it looks nice, it makes creating art assets simple for a non-artist like me, and it makes it easier to get high performance (I’m experimenting with Oculus Rift development where this is critical).

I already have some reasonably nice results coming out of UE4 with this style, but I’d like to learn how to do more. For example, at the moment I’m exporting models from Blender with multiple materials applied to a single mesh (each material covering separate parts of the mesh). The materials are just simple solid diffuse colours, which gets me results that look a bit like the trees at the top of this article.

I was wondering if anyone had any tips on getting more colour variation across my meshes, a bit like the background in this example, where the faces can be given different colours, whilst maintaining that flat shaded look. Do I have to manually texture my meshes? Or is there some way to do this with vertex colour painting?

Any other tips on working in this style are much appreciated!

Multiple materials or applying textures are overkill. If you’re looking for a flat shaded style, then it’s more efficient to work with vertex colors or normals.

You can do a color shift by multiplying the vertex color by a random amount. Here’s a quick example with a solid blue ball mesh:

An alternate method is to actually tilt the vertex normals a bit. This will dynamically change the highlights as the light angle shifts so I think it is a bit nicer: