Blender to UE4 workflow

So first off, I’m very new to both blender and UE4 and I’m sure this isn’t an uncommon question. I’ve looked around the internet and found all sorts of confusing tutorials on this but I can’t get them to work.

I’ve been working through XRG81’s excellent texture painting tutorial Found here, and everything seems to be going fine.

I can export the fbx file and re-import it back into blender with no problems.

However nothing ever works right when I try to import into UE4. I’ve tried lots and lots of things and gotten all kinds of strange results. Sometimes the model comes and and turns all black when I rebuild lighting. Sometimes the model comes in and it just stays grey. Sometimes some color comes with it, but it’s not mapped correctly. Sometimes I get errors in UE4 saying that UV maps are overlapping… but it NEVER looks right. I’m really frustrated and I’ve been struggling with this for a couple of days now.

I think it would be very helpful if I had a step-by-step checklist, let’s say, for exporting a simple textured cube from blender to UE4.

If anyone could help, I’d be very grateful.

Thanks in advance,
KS

Have you checked out the step-by-step on wiki? https://wiki.unrealengine/Static_Mesh_from_Blender

I also suggest checking out 's many blender to Ue4 and other general tutorials here.

Here we go :wink:

1. create the model
  2. uv map it: or when you use a simple model (e.g a cube with just a rock texture) just unwrap it (select everything in the edit mode -> U -> Unwrap)
  3. create a lightmap: (this will avoid shadow problems e.g the black mesh after building will be solved) -> here you can find more information about lightmaps:

**not necessary:

1. create a collision -> choose one of the three ways:

2. probably also LODs -> ?v=17pcyPVplEc**

3. export the mesh and the texture

4. import mesh and texture

5. create a material out of the texture