Question over game menus

So, ive been through most of the tutorials, and I am a programmer by trade, so this may come off as a noob question but bear with me. In all other engines I’ve built/worked (most homegrown or open source) the development process used the concepts of a screen (similiar to level in ue4), except that the screens could encompass anything. I imagine that ue4 can do similar, so one screen would be a game menu, another character select, another the beginning splash screen.

And to be honest as a dirty little secret, I’ve mostly been playing with Blueprints, because they are so fun and easy that I have yet needed to code or learn the api for my purposes, except for I believe now… (i know, bad programmer!)

Anyway, I am trying to understand the process, and workflow for the beginning splash screen stuff, and true game menus (not in-game menus which have tons of examples and seem in a way “tutorial’d” out), so that my game can have a basic skeleton to build on (specifically I want to build a level select menu). I have come to the following conclusions:

1. Learn slate, use it for the menus and start screens (but i’ve read doing graphics is really painful)
  2. Draw on Canvas (but i’ve read is pretty low level)
  3. Use matinee somehow (someone suggested this to me)