Access Denied on Build

Hey guys!

Following through the tutorial for building the UE4 source code. Grabbed VS2013 Express (I have a student edition of VS2012, but everything seems to say 2013 is needed). When I go to build, I get the DOS window for about 30-40 seconds, then a message saying ‘Access Denied’, and the build stops and does not complete.

I’ve got administrator on my machine, although this is my first time using GitHub to grab code like this. Does anyone have any ideas?

Hi DakSevlda,

Did you make sure to link your unreal engine account to your github account? You can do so on the unreal engine account page by typing in your github account name in the box shown.

Thank you and have a great day,

Yes I did, at least I believe so. I have the UE4 source forked to myself and I’m able to see it all so I believe so. I’ll double check!

Doubled checked. My Github is daksevkla, and that is tied into my UE4 account over atwww.unrealengine.com/settings

What I believe is happening is that the Unreal Build Tool (UBT) is trying to clean some of your existing binaries/dlls and is having trouble doing so (access denied deleting/touching a file). Could be because the files are write protected or because they are in use (editor running or something like that).

I’m not sure which files they would be, but typically ones in the Engine\Binaries\ or MyGame\Binaries directory structures.

[=Josh.Markiewicz;1162]
What I believe is happening is that the Unreal Build Tool (UBT) is trying to clean some of your existing binaries/dlls and is having trouble doing so (access denied deleting/touching a file). Could be because the files are write protected or because they are in use (editor running or something like that).

I’m not sure which files they would be, but typically ones in the Engine\Binaries\ or MyGame\Binaries directory structures.
[/]