Basics: Creating a large outdoor level

This is no doubt a very newbie question, but I am very new to Unreal and game creation (but a long-time developer). I was really hooked in by the UE4 pricing model, and want to try my hand at it. If it goes commercial, so much the better, but I have no expectations there.

I would like to create a level that represents a large outdoor space, like a forest, jungle, or desert. But I am looking for help getting started, because I don’t fully understand the relationship between the level map, and the detailed geometry contained within, and the “geometry” (if that is also what it is called) that is created by the Landscape editor. If I start walking in my level, and eventually reach a dune, say, that I carved with the Landscape editor, would I simply be able to walk up it just like anything else? If I wanted to create a large forest, would the trees I paint in Landscape mode be the same, interaction-wise, as trees that were modelled with static meshes?

I am also confused about scale. How big an area (in real-world terms) can I create in a level, given the limits and best practices of the Unreal geometry engine?

I have been hunting for tutorials on this kind of stuff, and while there are certainly things available that touch on some of these questions, I feel like I am missing the Step Zero basics, to enable me to get my head around the rest. I also have no doubt I am taking a really big bite off to chew, but want to be able to know what I am up against before simply throwing in the towel. The folks at Epic have really done a great thing by making this so available, but the “penalty” is that dolts like me are going to try and do stuff that the pros have been doing for years.

Thanks, in advance, for any help anybody is willing to throw this way.