How to: Simple Camera Zoom w/ Mouse Wheel

I’m new to all and it took me about 3 hours to actually figure out how to go about getting my camera to zoom in/out. So to save all the other newbies out there the trouble here is the blueprint prototype i set up, hope it helps :slight_smile:

http://s4.postimg.org/wcybtepdp/Mouse_Zoom.jpg

To zoom out you would just add to the Target Arm Length

Nice. Here is an alternate way.

By the way…you can get smooth transitions using Event Tick + FInterpTo node.

3 Likes

YAWTZTC (Yet Another Way To Zoom The Camera)

setup works with several cameras, just make sure you have the correct one assigned to current Camera. The Zoom inputs are mapped to actions that use MouseWheel and the factors are 1.1 for zoom out and 0.9 for zoom in.

EDIT: Forgot to mention I keep my view target at 0,0,0.

2 Likes

I was able to get mouse clicking functionality working but scrollwheel isn’t working for me.
MouseScroll Up/Down isn’t registering. Even added a print string just to make sure it wasn’t my blueprint setup. Am I forgetting to check some box to activate Mouse Scroll Functionality?

i see yesterday that tut

Edit > Project Settings > Engine > Input, you have 2 Action Mappings, one called ZoomIn with Mouse Wheel Up and one called ZoomOut with Mouse Wheel Down? If you need to add them, don’t forget to click the “Set As Default” button.

yeah I only added those just to see if for some reason I needed to add it to work. So after further tests, the inputs that I’m pressing are only being done when I place them in the PlayerController blueprint I’m using.

So when I try to execute a mouse click, scroll up, scroll down, etc., they are only executed if I put them in the player controller. is a bit of problem since I don’t know how to gain access to the camera of the character I’m controlling with the spring arm from PlayerController blueprint.

Can you elaborate on how to set that up?

How do we do pinch to zoom in/out?