Mapping an Unreal scape to a table in ARkit

Good afternoon,

Time to come clean, but bare with me! I am totally new to the world of app development but I have limited experience with several languages through pen testing (my day to day trade). I have an idea in which I wish to develop into a proof of concept in the coming months. Hopefully that PoC, coupled with the idea will enable me to recruit a handful of dedicated developers to push the project forward.

So, enough of the scene setting… Swift, ARkit, Unreal integration. I have been trying for a few hours to find some resource that can put me on the right path, but am unsure where to start. Ultimately I want to create a scene (a relatively low poly forest, village etc), have it roll out on a table in front of the user and have a simple pattern of life play out on the table. Coupled with a player that has a limited amount of movement. coupled with a few, triggered events.

Where do I start? I have no idea how much interplay there is between swift and unreal, so I don’t want to start down a path that I needn’t have walked. I understand that ARkit is new on the scene, but im struggling to find meaningful information that can get me started. Once im started, ill be on a roll… but the starting is proving troublesome.

I appreactiate your time greatly.

Thank you,

Pete

Anyone?

Ill pay for your time in banter and chicken

If your new to game dev. I would steer you away from vr and ar. Learn starting simply with a mobile 3d third person or side scroller. Understand shader complexities, draw calls, texture scales, cameras, angles, fps etc. a vr or ar game as a start will exhaust you to the point of being overwhelmed, and giving up like many people that come here, and leave in 3 months. PC game easiest. Mobile has limitations, ar, and vr have even more. A grey area is no place to start learning.

Make it beer and falafel, and I’m in!