I'm a newbie with modeling 3D software i would like to ask Artist 3D

I’ve been practicing modeling 3D software in 3ds max and zbrush and i’m confused what is the best way to pickup.
1.Create the base mesh first and then sculpt all the details on base mesh ? if so will it affect topology of the model?
2.Scultp with all the details and then create model using retopology ? will it give better topology ??

Witch method is the fastest way to choose?

(sometime i’m feel scultp in zbrush then retopology in 3ds max it’s faster i’m not sure about my feeling)

any advice please ?

1. Create a block out. In which application, it does not matter, just pick whatever is fastest to you. Here you establish proportions, the silhouette, and scale. Consider throwing the asset into UE4 to make sure it will work, especially if it’s a set piece or something important.

2. If it’s modular, you may want to do the lowpoly model first. If you are going straight to zbrush, create a base mesh which will sculpt well, or use dynamesh and not have to worry about the topology.

3. Retopology really depends on the asset. Sometimes auto-toplogy tools are good enough, generally they fall a bit flat for characters, but might be passable. For certain hard surface assets auto retopo can be too soft or blobby, and are easy enough to model out. Sometimes a combination of tools and workflows is best, use auto-topology where it works, do others by hand.

I would say 1. is better for static meshes and 2. is better for skeletal meshes.

Sometimes your base mesh will work for your low-poly mesh, if not then you’ll need to retopologize after you finish your sculpt.

I’m the content and asset manager of a fair size team and when it comes to UE4 the common question I’m asked by the new guy is whats the polycount budget?