Mod/Conversion Idea Help (or Noob asks questions)

Honestly I’ve not had much programming experience, but I have had some. The UE editor looks pretty easy, but I am lost for knowing if I can do some of the stuff that I’d like to do and where to find it.

Short explanation, I want to bring actual genetics to ark (I am a biologist after all), and re-balance the wild-tamed dino interaction.

I think the balance that I want to do would be the easiest of this.

1. A dino lvl cap of 100.
  2. Have a very low level of bonus levels for dinos near the cap (Basically if I tame a lvl 96 I’d still be able to add 5 levels to the dino to max it at 101, or for a lvl 100 at . 105)
  3. Ultimately have set levels for dino maturation level skins in the wild (ie. 1-5 baby, 5-15 juvie, 15-20 adolescent, then the full adult).
  4. Make all dinos like the penguins with babies and such wandering. Egg nests would be nice too.

My thoughts behind this are that the level cap makes taming “babies” more desirable because you can “train” them when you level up (min-maxing stats like in D&D). This is my solution to a wild vs tamed dino. Because a trained war horse should be tougher than a wild one but the wild might be a faster runner.

The next idea would be tougher. I’d like to customize how each stat is calculated. With the right equation dominance, co-dominance, incomplete dominance, and several genetic abnormalities could be coded into the dinos for breading. Even a RNG for what you get from a parent would work. These would be hidden varriables. So basically

1. Add new functions to calculate stats on dinos (I know I can alter the multiplier, but I want a little more variety and to add some soft caps)
  2. Add new hidden stats to dinos that are part of the equations but can be inherited. (Would include disease states too, eventually.)
  3. Add at a latter time some structures (industrial and tek) that could genotype the dinos.