Unity user comes to UE4

Hi there!

I started using Unreal and thought I will give some feedback. I’m using 4.16.2 at the moment and I’m surprised how unstable the editor is. Today I’ve encountered several crashes. I quickly started saving the project after every minor change which is not optimal. Asset management is vulnerable to changes that occur at some later point in time. It seems that UE4 has some problems with updating references properly. I’m a programmer and prefer using code but blueprints gave me a positive first impression. I like how the engine is packed with features that you need to buy in Unity. It seems to me that Unreal has a better light and performance than Unity but this gap is not very big though.

Overal I would say Unity is more stable, and manages assets in a better way. Unreal has a slight advantage in graphics and performance. Once I’ll use UE4 in production I will be able to tell something more. Keep delivering awesome engine!

Cheers

Hello , and welcome to the forum.

Unreal 4.16.2 is by far the most sophisticated and stable version i personally came across, while working with UE for 2-3 years. So let that sink in :slight_smile:

IF something causes the editor to crash, then it is likely either a bug, or sometimes things can go wrong, especially if you are new. But without further information it is not possible to give you exact pointers, but if you look into the “log”, inside your project “Saved” folder, you might get an idea. Blueprints are nice but they are basically a direct tap into code, so if you do blueprints, sometimes those can cause issues. For instance delays on Event Tick can be tricky, or if you use For Loop nodes.

It takes several months working hard with Unreal to get around all the problems you might encounter. First destination, use google search and if you have a specific technical question, visit the AnswerHub.

I also recommend to do project backups from time to time.

Good Luck!

A former Unity user.