Combining Meshes & Seams Rpg Customization

Is there a certain method or feature that is best to go about customizing a character like you would do in a mmorpg. I am hoping to get as good of a customization as possible, preferably something like the more modern Korean Customization. Something that at least sets it up so I could work to get it as close as possible, potential wise.

I am still learning all the features and things you can do, but there are just soo many. lol…

Here is what I was experimenting with, making a hole in the side of the head and having a perfectly fitting ear model that can be exchanged, but there is a seam thanks to lighting of normals I believe. Is there a better method?

I am using Blender BTW.

I think that is made with the skeleton (armature), same weeks ago i saw i video on youtube about it.
You can scale and deform assigned verticels with the armature.

Edit: I found it and its called “morphing”

You can use the DataTransfer modifier on the ear to copy the normals of the head. First make a vertex group for the edge vertices of the ear (those that are the same as on the head), then add a DataTransfer modifier and select Face Corner Data and Custom Normals. Add the vertex group for the edge in the bottom right. As long as the hole vertices and ear edge vertices are the same you can replace the rest of the ear with any mesh and it will still work.

You can also use this technique for getting smooth normals on hair (make a sphere, scale it and copy the normals from that) or attaching arbitrary geometry to other geometry using this method: Quick Tip #15 : Edge Loop Skirting - YouTube

Ezycod~