Invisible box-Wall all around and inside the model.

Hello, im new with UE4, and im just trying my first project.

I have a project build in Revit, witch i exported to UE4 via 3ds Max.
I have lost the textures in the way, but i guess i need to recreate them.

I used a first person shooter base for this, as my idea is to make an interactive presentation that the client can navigate on his own.

But from the start i have a big problem. The model is placed in some kind of invisible box than cannot be penetrated, an if i place the FirstPersonCamera “inside”, it cannot move at all.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks in advance!

The mesh will bring a collision box that encompasses the entire mesh by default. You need to edit the mesh and change the collision complexity to “Use Complex Collision As Simple.”

Do I do this when i import the FBX? I didnt find were to do this?

can i do this to all objetcs at once?

There is a checkbox that will create a simple collision if ticked. It’s on the top of the import window called “Auto generate collision”. To remove the collision double click the mesh in the content browser to open its properties. There is a collision section in the menu bar. Here you can remove the collision or add another simple collision. You can also move the collision around once you created it.

If the poly count isn’t too high would probably want to use the polygons itself as collision. This makes sense for building walls. To do this browse to the collision section in the mesh properties (not the detail panel) and set the collision complexity to use “complex collision as simple”. As DMHokie already mentioned.

This is a games engine so there are 2 types of collision

1. simple collision is a box or another simple shape. This will be used for player collision and grenades, etc.
  2. complex collision is the actual geometry of the asset and is used for bullets, etc