New to Blueprints, Keyboard Input Won't Work

Hi

I am just starting to learn Blueprints, and am trying to make a basic blueprint (Supposed to be named SpeakNumbers but I typed it wrong.) which constantly outputs a float, and the float’s value increases when a keyboard button is pressed.

This is what I have so far but when I test it, it will not take my input. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks.

Hook up a Get Player Controller to the Player Controller input of the Enable Input node.

I tried that but the input still won’t work.

If you are giving Enable Input the correct Player Controller reference, then the only other problem could be another BP is consuming the input of the Any Key event.

I couldn’t find any other blue print using the input (I switched it out to check if 1 is pressed)

Okay I’ll try that

I tried in a dedicated PlayerController class and in other ones and it still doesn’t work. I might have gotten input to work playing around a while back so I might have to find that and see what I did differently.

I tried that and it still didn’t work. I also tried doing the same events in other blueprints and I can not get it to work.

None of the keyboard input events work, I don’t think I have any Launcher Learner Samples installed, and I can tried making the blueprint in a project where I did get input to work.

I loaded a previous project which did have functional input but it now doesn’t work. I have no idea what is wrong with it. I am going to try to update in the case that it is a glitch.

It still doesn’t work after the update.

You can’t print a value from another function.

You’re basically saying:

Function 1 - Calculate “Something”
Function 2 - Show “Something”

But “Something” is only contained in Function 1 and therefore Function 2 can’t show it.

I suspect your Print to be working but displaying an empty string.