What software do I pick up next to UE4 to make environments efficiently?

I recently started learning UE4, I am a complete beginner. I’ve had alot of fun exploring the starter content and using the landscape tools etc. However, recently I had some ideas to build a wood cabin inside of UE4, and after some hours fiddling around I found that UE4 is not really meant as a 3D modelling software. I have some basic forms of the cabin, but my workflow is pretty horrible and it takes alot of time. Some people told me to use a 3D modelling program to make my models, and to import them into UE4, and this seem like a good step. Problem is, there’s alot of software out there and I have been googling the differences, but can’t really decide on what I should pick up. I’m thinking of picking up Blender but I really want your guys’ opinion on this.

What do you guys use for your models? If you were to build a house, what program would you use? Is it worth picking up Maya? (I will soon be a student, then I could get the 3 years free) Or should I just stick to something like Blender?

I personally use blender + gimp because it’s free and you can nearly do everything with it :slight_smile:
When you want to work in the game dev industry -> use or maya

I downloaded UE4 because of the amazing environments people make, and how realistic it all looks. I think I am more of a level designer who also wants to put his own models here and there. Right now I don’t know anything about gameplay and only make stuff because it looks good.